Connect with the TX Hunger Initiative in your community

Ruben Sanchez, Regional Director for El Paso Ruben_Sanchez@Baylor.edu & 915-408-6227 & 915-408-6227

Meagan J. Pardy, Regional Director for Houston Megan_Pardy@Baylor.edu & 713-489-0801

Janie Maldonado, Regional Director for McAllen Janie_Maldonado@Baylor.edu & 956-624-4006 & 956-631-4277

Dawnetta Smith, Regional Director for Fort Worth Dawnetta_Smith@Baylor.edu & 817-707-0055

Marc Jacobson, Regional Director for Dallas Marc_Jacobson@Baylor.edu

Ryan Surratt, Regional Director for Tyler Ryan_Surratt@Baylor.edu & 903-570-8289

Shamethia Webb, Regional Director for Waco Shamethia_Webb@Baylor.edu & 254-498-2142

Griffin Kelp, Regional Director for Austin Griffin_Kelp@Baylor.edu & 513-312-8627

                          Texas Hunger Initiative of the Baylor University School of Social Work, www.TexasHunger.org & Rachel_Wilkerson@Baylor.edu & 806-535-4685.  Learn what hunger in America looks like; the policies affecting hungry families & how you can serve an advocate on the behalf of those Jesus called “the least of these.” (Matthew 24:25).  Bottom of FormTexas Hunger Initiative at Baylor University received $3.5M contract from Texas Health & Human Services Commission.  The contract will allow THI to build an innovative public-private partnership that will play vital role in the state’s human-needs infrastructure:  an innovative statewide public-private partnership to expand access to food & health care for low-income Texas families through community-based research & programmatic activities. The contract is renewable for up to five years.  HHSC contract will provide resources for the Texas Hunger Initiative to open 12 regional offices in Amarillo, Austin, Dallas, Fort Worth, El Paso, Houston, Lubbock, McAllen, San Angelo, San Antonio, Tyler & Waco. As part of HHSC’s Community Partnership Recruitment Initiative, THI will recruit & train 1,100+ community-based organizations on YourTexasBenefits.com, a new online tool created by HHSC to help Texans apply for & manage their state benefits.  THI will lead a coalition of community partners that includes the Texas Association of Community Health Centers providing outreach work with the health community in Texas, particularly Federally Qualified Health Centers that meet the health care needs of the uninsured & underserved – and Texas Impact, the state’s oldest & largest interfaith social justice network, which will conduct congregational outreach.  The partnership model is intended to be replicable for any other poverty-related issue & to work in any other state in the country.

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: