Honor/memorialize your pets while rai$ing money for causes you believe in

Honor/memorialize your pets while rai$ing money for causes you believe in by adopting or adapting this creative fund-rai$ing strategy — to honor/memorialize your pet(s) while raising money for causes you believe in.

from Leslie.Ingram78@Yahoo.com … As many of you know I am a huge DOG LOVER!! I would like to take a minute to share my experience with you to tell you a little about how I came up with Canines for a Cure. I met my best friend, Ginger, in 1995 when she was just 6 weeks old.  I became very attached to her over the next 8 years & was heartbroken when I lost her to breast cancer in 2003.  I never knew that cancer could affect the relationship I shared with my beloved “Ginny.”  I got to thinking about her one night after waking in the middle of the night.  I had been trying to come up with a fundraiser for this year’s relay but couldn’t think of anything different.  I got to thinking about how I lost Ginger to cancer & tried to tie it in to the relay this year.  I know a lot of people walk for people they have lost to the disease but I thought I would do something different this year & walk in Ginger’s memory, after all, she was my best friend.  I am raising money this year in her memory.  I guess my favorite quote would have to be “A dog is the only thing on Earth that loves you more than he loves himself.”  That was so very true in my relationship with Ginger & also with my new best friend, Mollie.  Dogs become such an important part of our lives & what better way to show your love for them than by giving them a special treat.

I have made up some almond bark-dipped and decorated doggie biscuits this year in order to raise money to give to the American Cancer Society on behalf of our relay team Sweet Memories.  This is my third year to participate in the Relay for Life, & I really enjoy it & feel as though it is a very important organization.  I will be selling the baggies of treats through June 11th.

Please spread the word to all of your friends with furry friends! Not only are you giving a tasty treat to your companion, but giving HOPE to those fighting cancer. Please support the Relay for Life & help find a CURE!! 

CANINES FOR THE CURE Please support Sweet Memories Relay for Life Team 2010 Cancer doesn’t just affect our human friends but also our canine friends. Give your Pal a YUMMY treat & help find a CURE!!  Bagged, Dipped & Decorated Doggie Biscuits Small – $0.50 Medium – $1.00 Large – $2.50.

