Get youth involved with Texas Tech & Angelo State

Schedule a convenient time for you to visit Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas, USA: www.Visit.TTU.edu/Schedule/default.asp

Flexible Texas Essential Knowledge & Skills-based education solutions for students! High school diploma … early — with dual credit (earn both college & high school credit by taking a freshman- or sophomore-level college course); take courses not offered at your school; courses you need despite scheduling conflicts or special circumstances (emergency, travel, health, legal, work-related or other issues); high school or college credit by exams, academic enrichment, 70 self-paced independent-study courses & accredited elementary, middle & high school diploma program wherever you live (apply any time) — students enrolled in Texas Tech University Independent School District will NOT be counted as dropouts by your school or district; bulk Credit By Examinations services (one test or 5,000) to your school, district or regional service center; and more: www.CoursePortal.ODE.TTU.edu or www.K12.TTU.edu or Michele.Moskos@TTU.edu or 806-742-7200.

Check out the dates & register for chess competitions: www.SPICE.TTU.edu

For information about a values- & leadership-based six-weeks, after-school program for fifth- & sixth-graders in the Lubbock, Texas, area, please call 806-742-2891. Community involvement, leadership skills, building character to last a lifetime. Civility. Ethics. Leadership. “This program is about helping our future leaders understand that life is not about what we do, it’s about who we are.” Dr. Kitty Harris-Wilkes

Kids 8-12 & 13-17 for 2008 summer-long Environmental Detective program: CPS@TTU.edu or 806-742-3125.

Summer camp that’s a blast for students 14 to 18-years old, July 28 – August 1 at Texas Tech University, Lubbock Texas, USA: www.TStem.TTU.edu/EngineeringCamp Students learn more about science, technology, engineering and math while designing, building and launching their own high-flying rockets.

Music camps for pre-college students; including Band/Orchestra & All-State Choir:  www.TTU.edu/MusicCamps in July for pre-college students. Also, Texas Tech All-State Choir (for ninth graders & better), Texas Tech Band/Orchestra Camp (14 concert bands & 4 orchestras); harpists participate in harp ensemble & learn pop & jazz styles; Marching Auxiliary Division: all-day classes for flag, twirling & drum-major students.

Fashion Camp — insight into style for middle school & high school students. Campers will sleep at Sneed Hall: www.depts.TTU.edu/HS/NHR/Ret/Fashion_Camp or Fashion.Camp@TTU.edu or 806-742-3068.

Juanita’s Diary DVD & script showcases young Juanita Garcia as she follows the crops with her migrant-farming family.  Observe the struggles of migrant families in the 1960s & learn about the social, economic, political & educational atmosphere of the times:  www.RaidersRojos.org

Texas Tech decor, promotional items & information to inspire learning & energize home-study or office areas, classrooms, schools, auditoria; youth, mentoring, tutoring, faith-based, athletic or after-school programs: Amy.Murphy@TTU.edu; Jobi.Martinez@TTU.edu; Marci.Beasley@TTU.edu; Elizabeth.Mason@TTU.edu; Jose.Valenciano@TTU.edu; Monte.Monroe@TTU.edu; Heather.Hernandez@TTU.eduThomas.Reynolds@TTU.edu; Alex.Ortiz@TTU.eduKent.Wilkinson@TTU.edu; Joaquin.Borrego@TTU.edu; Gary.Elbow@TTU.edu; Margie.Brown@TTU.edu; Lea.Davidson@TTU.edu; Becky.Wilson@TTU.edu; Andy.Wilkinson@TTU.edu; Kaley.Daniel@TTU.edu; J.Haney@TTU.edu; Alan.Cushman@TTU.edu; Pamela.Hellman@TTU.edu; Judith.Keeling@TTU.edu; Stephanie.Rhode@TTU.edu; Kimberly.A.Guay@TTU.edu; Chris.Guay@TTU.edu; Debbie.Laverie@TTU.eduNural.Akchurin@TTU.eduJeff.Whitley@TTU.edu; Eileen.Johnson@TTU.edu; Dean.Fontenot@TTU.edu; Elizabeth.Mason@TTU.edu; Patricia.Wright@TTU.edu; Karen.Alexander@TTU.edu; Cindy.Villegas@TTU.edu; Cory.Powell@TTU.edu; Dianne.Crowley@TTU.edu; Maria.Fernandez@TTU.edu; J.Brenholtz@TTU.eduJanie.Ramirez@TTU.edu; Connie.Coffin@TTU.edu; Mary.Beth.Inman@TTU.edu; S.Duggan@TTU.edu; Brad.Phinny@TTU.eduKathy.Nordstrom@TTU.edu; Cynthia.McKenney@TTU.edu; Christine.Self@TTU.edu; Minerva.Alaniz@TTU.edu; Shannon.N.Younger@TTU.edu; Shannon.Samson@TTU.edu; Shelli.Crockett@TTU.edu; Amy.Jarmon@TTU.edu; Judith.Keeling@TTU.edu; Toni.Burse@TTU.edu; Michele.Moskos@TTU.edu; Tiffany.Enderson@TTU.edu; Helen.Morrow@TTU.edu; Judith.Warman-Adams@TTU.eduBeverly.Pinson@TTU.edu; Julie.Isom@TTU.edu; Diana.Fabing@TTU.edu;Jodi.Dillard@TTU.eduRosa.Gallegos@TTU.eduCal.Barnes@TTU.edu; Ryan.Scheckel@TTU.edu; Steve.Maxner@TTU.edu; Jaclyn.E.Canas@TTU.eduKen.Gassiot@TTU.eduLoniMarie.Flores@TTUHSC.edu; Pamela.Johnson@TTUHSC.edu; Summer.Balcer@TTUHSC.edu; Tiffany.Hager@TTUHSC.edu; Marylin.Taylor@TTUHSC.edu; Belinda.Hughes@TTUHSC.edu; Elizabeth.Robertson@TTUHSC.edu; Shannon.Kirkland@TTUHSC.edu; Jo.Vaughan@TTUHSC.edu; Barbara.Ballew@TTUHSC.eduEmma.Carrasco@TTU.eduAnnette.Boles@TTUHSC.edu;Linda.Prado@TTUHSC.eduChristy.Meriwether@TTUHSC.edu; Danette.Baker@TTUHSC.edu; Julie.Toland@TTU.edu; Carol.Diminnie@Angelo.edu; Don.Coers@Angelo.edu; Flor.Madero@Angelo.edu; Kathryn.Artnak@Angelo.edu; Paul.Swets@Angelo.edu; Richard.Beck@Angelo.edu; Dallas.Swafford@Angelo.eduJoe.Munoz@Angelo.edu; Lyn.Wheeler@Angelo.edu; Preston.Lewis@Angelo.edu; Wrennah.Gabbert@Angelo.edu; Meghan.Pace@Angelo.edu; Doug.Fox@Angelo.edu; Lorri.Morris@Angelo.edu; Candice.Upton@Angelo.edu; Nancy.Larson@Angelo.edu

Interactive, health career-focused learning experiences for your elementary school, middle school & after-school programs:  health careers puppet bunch, healthy behaviors quiz, health careers bingo, Ultra Violet light beads, health careers twister, Crime Scene Investigation activity, Also Known As Science, Mr. Bones & more:  Shannon.Kirkland@TTUHSC.edu   

Pre-college freshman engineering enrichment program: www.TexPrep.TTU.edu or 806-742-2580, x. 246.

Tours, Junior Rough Riders, education, summer programs (grades 1-3 and 4-6) & volunteer opportunities:  www.NRHC.TTU.edu/Menu.htm or Emily.Arellano@TTU.edu or 806-742-0498, x. 238 or RanchHC@TTU.edu.

Summer Sports Camp at Texas Tech/Lubbock; two weeks full of fun, athletic activities designed for all skill levels (for ages 7-11 & 9-13): archery, rock climbing, team sports, cooperative games, swimming lessons & other water activities: www.RecSports.TTU.edu or 806-742-3351.

Among US’ top 20 undergraduate physics programs; 39 undergraduate & 23 graduate programs, exceptional scholarship program; 6,200+ students, ambiance & personalized attention of a smaller private university. Students from 43 states, 22 countries & 211 of Texas’ 254 counties (68 percent Caucasian, 23 percent Hispanic & 6 percent African-American …) & a 268-acre campus with new academic, recreational & residential facilities; men’s football, basketball, baseball, cross country & track; women’s volleyball, basketball, cross country, soccer, track & softball. www.Angelo.edu or 1-800-9-GO-TO-ASU (1-800-946-8627).

Also:
www.Microsoft.com/about/diversity/programs/camps.mspx High Tech Camp for girls, works to dispel stereotypes of the high-tech industry. Giving young people a chance to experience, firsthand, what it is like to develop cutting-edge technology. In seven cities.

Parents/families & kids! Sign up for kids’ summer fun in Lubbock: www.LubbockFunClub.com or Steph@LubbockFunClub.com or 806-928-1160.

Advertisements
%d bloggers like this: